National Assembly of the Republic of Armenia | Official Web Page | www.parliament.amNational Assembly of the Republic of Armenia | Official Web Page |
NA President  |   Deputies   |   NA Council  |   Committees  |   Factions, Groups  |   Staff  |   Budget office  |   Legislation   |   News  |   Foreign Relations  |   Library  |   Constituency Relations  |   Links
Birth date
"Prosperous Armenia"
07.06.2007 - 06.11.2007
"Prosperous Armenia" Faction  


He was born on November 21, 1961 in the village Zovashen of Ararat marz.

In 1979 he finished the secondary school in Byuravan with a gold medal.

In 1984 he graduated from the Faculty of the History of the YSU with excellence.

In 1984-1989 he worked in Yerevan city Department of the company Gitelik/Knowledge as an organizer of lectures, in 1989-1990 worked as a secretary of the Young Communists of the Spandarian district committee.

In 1990-1993 he was the Deputy Chairman of the Youth Union of Armenia. In 1993-1995 - Deputy Head on Youth Affairs of the Department of Physical Education, Sports and Youth Affairs adjunct to the RA Government.

In 1995-1999 - a deputy of the National Assembly, a member of the Standing Committee on Defense, National Security and Internal Affairs of the National Assembly.

In 1997-2003 he was Deputy Minister of Culture and Youth Affairs of the Republic of Armenia. In 2000-2004 he was the President of the National Olympic Committee of Armenia. In 2003-2007 - Chairman of the National Committee of Physical Education and Sports adjunct to the RA Government.

On May 12, 2007 he was elected as a deputy of the National Assembly from the Prosperous Armenia Party (PAP) proportional electoral list.  He is a member of the political board of the Prosperous Armenia Party.

On June 7, 2007 he was elected Vice President of the National Assembly. On November 5 he was appointed by the National Assembly as a Chairman of the Control Chamber of the Republic of Armenia.

He was awarded with a Movses Khorenatsi Medal and an Order of Honour by the Association of the International Olympic Committee.

He is married and has three children.

NA President  |  Deputies|  NA Council  |  Committees  |  Factions, Groups  |  Staff
Legislation  |   News  |  Foreign Relations  |  Constituency Relations  |  Links  |  RSS