Mercosur (Mercado Común del Sur / Southern Common Market. Consists of Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay)

November 19, 2007

""The Parliament of MERCOSUR condemns the genocide committed by Ottoman Turkey from 1915-1923 which took the lives of one-and-a-half million people. The Parliament expresses its support to the righteous cause of the Armenian people. The Parliament also appeals to governments and parliaments, which have not recognised and condemned the Armenian genocide, to adopt similar decisions.""

South American Parliamentarians Coalition (MERCOSUR)

Montevideo, Uruguay

Deputies from Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay - all members of the South American Parliamentarians coalition, known as MERCOSUR- adopted on Monday November 19 a resolution recognising and condemning the Armenian Genocide. The meeting was held in Montevideo, the capital of Uruguay.

In a unanimous decision, the Human Rights Committee of the parliament recommended the adoption of the resolution.

"The Parliament of MERCOSUR condemns the genocide committed by Ottoman Turkey from 1915-1923 which took the lives of one-and-a-half million people. The Parliament expresses its support to the righteous cause of the Armenian people. The Parliament also appeals to governments and parliaments, which have not recognised and condemned the Armenian genocide, to adopt similar decisions."

The resolution was introduced by representatives from Argentina and Uruguay. MERCOSUR member states Argentina and Uruguay have already recognised the Armenian Genocide. Chile followed suit this year.

MERCOSUR, established in 1986, is one of the largest intergovernmental organisations in South America. The associated members of MERCOSUR are Bolivia, Chile, Columbia, Ecuador and Peru.